Getting Back Into It

Image

I have been away from this project for a while, so I decided to flash a new image on the BeagleBone and sorta start from scratch.  I got the latest Debian image, Debian 2015-03-01, that can be found on BeagleBoard’s website.  I like this image much better than Angstrom, because I am much more familiar with the Debian system.  This will help me with package management and networking.

WiFi… again

I’m still using the USB WiFi module that I bought with the board.  I followed this great guide on Nix Craft to help with connecting to my router with WPA2.  It really is just as easy as editing the file /etc/network/interfaces on the BeagleBone.  An example of the WiFi section is below:


# WiFi
#auto wlan0
allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-ssid MyHomeRouter
wpa-key-mgmt WPA-PSK
wpa-group TKIP CCMP
wpa-psk SuPeRsEcReTp@s$

You just need to give your information for wpa-ssid and wpa-psk.

This entry was posted in BeagleBone, Project, Software and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

