Install & Configure OpenVPN on a BeagleBone

I installed and configured OpenVPN on my BeagleBone.  I recommend following this guide on Digital Ocean.  I have followed many guides on Digital Ocean and they have all been extremely helpful.  They are well written, clean, and to the point.

Note:  Do not install easy-rsa when you install OpenVPN and do not copy the easy-rsa directory as the author explains.  Instead, copy the directory as this article on readwrite explains.  OpenVPN comes with its own easy-rsa directory, so all you have to do is:

  cp –r /usr/share/doc/openvpn/examples/easy-rsa/2.0 /etc/openvpn/easy-rsa

I was able to verify that my OpenVPN server works by using the OpenVPN Connect app for Android.  I had to create the unified client.ovpn as the Digital Ocean article explains, copied it to my phone, and then imported the file using the app.  I also had to configure port forwarding on my router and I was already using Dynamic DNS provided by NoIP.com.

My next steps are to configure a couple laptops to connect to the server and then setup a fileserver with the BeagleBone.

This entry was posted in BeagleBone, Project, Software and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

